## California Workforce Connection Convention Minutes April 26, 2019 Ayres Hotel, 325 Bristol Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626

The meeting was called to order by President, James Thomas at 8:30 a.m.

#### **PRESENT:**

James Thomas, President Melissa Lauritzen, First Vice-President Denise Dobine, Second Vice-President Phil Dwyer, Treasurer Mary Navarro-Aldana, Immediate Past President Lucely Tut, Membership Coordinator Excused Nanette Bowman, Recording Secretary/PPA Chair Fred Ruibal, District II Director Ray Cabrera, District IV Director Tom Sims, Bybee Board Chair

# LOCAL CHAPTER CREDENTIALS AND DELEGATES:

Cabrillo Del Rio, W. Goins East Bay, A. Bautista East Bay Elected Delegate B. Takesh'ta Inland Empire, P. Gallerani Los Angeles, L. James Los Tres Condados, G. Ruelas Orange Empire, A. Saucedo Puerto Del Sol, R. Franco Sacramento, T. Davidson San Gabriel Valley, D. Elliott Silicon Valley, Proxy S. Lawrence

## First Call for nominations by Past President Mary Navarro-Aldana

President – None First Vice President – Melissa Lauritzen Second Vice President – Denise Dobine Treasurer – Phil Dwyer Membership Coordinator – Lucely Tut Bybee Three year term – Arlene Bautista

Convention Business recessed at 8:55 a.m.

## 4:52 p.m. Convention Business Reconvened

Last call for nominations by Past President Mary Navarro-Aldana

- President Denise Dobine and Melissa Lauritzen
  - Motion by R. Cabrera/seconded by R. Franco to close nominations motion passed
- First Vice-President Denise Dobine and Melissa Lauritzen
  - Motion by R. Cabrera/seconded by D. White to close nominations motion passed
- Second Vice-President Denise Dobine and Jennifer Lucy
  - Motion by R. Cabrera/seconded by D. Elliott to close nominations Motion passed
- Treasurer Phil Dwyer
  - Motion by N. Bowman/seconded by D. Elliott to close nominations and seat by acclamation – motion passed
- Membership Coordinator Lucely Tut

- Motion by R. Cabrera/seconded by D. Elliott to close nominations and seat by acclamation – motion passed
- Bybee Board Member Arlene Bautista
  - Motion by B.J. Sims/seconded by T. Davidson to close nominations and seat by acclamation – motion passed

Districts and Chapter members of each District caucused.

District Directors elected:	District I	Tanya Davidson
	District II	Fred Ruibal
	District III	Dadisi Elliott
	District IV	Raymond Cabrera
		Fabian Valencia, Director-Elect

Election of President: Denise Dobine 1141 votes – Melissa Lauritzen 164 votes Election of First Vice-President: Melissa Lauritzen 1249 votes - Denise Dobine 330 votes Election of Second Vice-President: Jennifer Lucy 1566 votes – Denise Dobine 13 votes

Tom Sims presented the Karl E. Bybee report Dadisi Elliott presented the membership report

B. J. Sims led the visual presentation of the newly released California Workforce Connection website.

Past President James Thomas administered oath to California Workforce Connection Officers for 2019-2020

President, Denise Dobine First Vice-President, Melissa Lauritzen Second Vice-President, Jennifer Lucy Treasurer, Phil Dwyer Membership Coordinator, Lucely Tut California District I Director, Tanya Davidson California District II Director, Fred Ruibal California District III Director, Dadisi Elliott California District IV Director, Raymond Cabrera Bybee Board Member, Arlene Bautista

Meeting adjourned at 6:47 p.m. Respectfully submitted By Nanette Bowman, Secretary